Squad named for Melbourne clash

Selectors have named a Brisbane Lions squad of 23 players from the AFL Queensland Football Academy to play Melbourne at the MCG this Sunday, May 22.

The game is the seventh in this year’s Women’s Exhibition Match Series and will be broadcast live on FOX Footy 504 from 10.05am.

The squad was chosen based on performances in the Brisbane Lions vs. Gold Coast SUNS QCLash11 curtain closer at the Gabba on April 16, as well as performances across the first month of club football.

By club, Coolangatta is represented by six players, followed by Yeronga (five), University of Queensland and Zillmere (four each), Coorparoo (two), Wilston Grange (one) and Townsville’s Thuringowa Bulldogs (one).

With the AFL National Women’s League set to commence in early 2017 AFL Queensland High Performance Manager Craig Starcevich said there has never been a more exciting time to be a female football player.

“The depth of talent across our state has grown significantly over the past few years, which has made selection for this team very competitive,” Starcevich said.

“Our AFL Queensland State Academy has been established not only to prepare players for interstate games, but also to develop high level club players aiming to becoming AFL National Women’s League players.

“Sunday’s game provides an opportunity to benchmark our group against the very best Victorian players.”

BRISBANE LIONS TEAM (players from the AFL Queensland Football Academy)

JUMPER # Surname First Name Club
1 LAW Shaleise Zillmere
2 ANDERSON Ally Zillmere
3 BATES Emily Yeronga
4 VIRGO Sam Yeronga
5 WALLACE Nikki Coolangatta
6 HUNT Megan University of Queensland
7 SEXTON Hannah Coolangatta
8 ZIELKE Emma Universiy of Queensland
9 MCCARTHY Kate Yeronga
10 WEBB Sharni University of Queensland
11 ROBERTS Maddy Coolangatta
12 GISU Delma Thuringowa (Townsville)
13 KASLAR Leah Coolangatta
14 GOODMAN Selina Coolangatta
15 YOUNG Sally Coorparoo
16 KOENEN Breanna University of Queensland
17 THOMAS Nat Yeronga
18 RANDALL Tahlia Wilston Grange
19 HARRIS Tayla Zillmere
20 CRACK Rachael Coorparoo
21 MEMBREY Jordan Coolangatta
22 WALL Danielle Yeronga
23 LAWRENCE Kylie Zillmere


Our Supporters