2017 Tribal Sport AFL Queensland Schools Cup



NOMINATIONS ARE NOW OPEN for the 2017 Tribal Sport AFL Queensland Schools Cup

All public, private and independent schools across Queensland and NSW Northern Rivers are invited to participate across three formats (with no nominations fees applicable):


1. AFLQ Schools Cup
During term competition (Terms 1-4)

Schools begin in regional gala days with regional winners progressing into state knockout finals.


2. AFLQ Schools of Excellence Division
During term competition for pre-approved schools (Terms 1-4). Available for Junior Male, Junior Female, Senior Male and Senior Female Divisions

  • Palm Beach Currumbin State High School
  • Helensvale State High School
  • Park Ridge State High School
  • Woodcrest State College
  • Brisbane Christian College
  • Victoria Point State High School
  • Sandgate District State High School
  • Narangba Valley State High School
  • Mountain Creek State High School
  • St Teresa’s Catholic College


3. AFLQ Schools of Excellence Invitational Division

Junior Male & Senior Male Divisions Twilight Competition (pre-approved schools)

  • Palm Beach Currumbin State High School
  • Helensvale State High School
  • Iona College
  • St Laurence’s College

CLICK here to nominate

2017 AFLQSCup Competition Handbook



Introduced in 2016, the AFL Queensland Schools Cup is AFL Queensland’s premier schools’ competition

The state-wide, interschool competition for boys and girls ran across three divisions; Primary, Junior (Years 7 – 9) and Senior (Years 10 – 12).

419 teams from 226 schools competed in a knockout style tournament throughout 2016. Of the 24 teams that made it through to the finals weekend, six were from North Queensland.

The top seeds of the AFL Queensland Schools of Excellence Division entered the competition at the qualifying and semi-final stages.

The competition culminated with three winning boys and three winning girls’ teams crowned AFL Queensland Schools Cup State Champions.

The AFL Queensland Schools Cup is proudly supported by Tribal Sport.

2017 AFLQSCup Competition Handbook


Years 4-6: Primary Male (15 a-side) and Primary Female (12 a-side)
Years 7-9: Junior Male (18 a-side) and Junior Female (16 a-side)
Years 10-12: Senior Male (18 a-side) and Senior Female (16 a-side)



2016 AFL Queensland Schools Cup Grand Finals Results

Sunday October 16, Maroochydore Multi Sports Complex

Primary Female
Morayfield East State School 5.9.39 def. Windaroo State School 0.0.0 Player of the match: Tahlia Smith

Primary Male
Ambrose Treacy College 4.9.33 def. Gaven State School 3.5.23 Player of the match: Tristan Meekan

Junior Female
Miami State High School 7.5.47 def. Narangba Valley State High School 1.2.8 Player of the match: Teagan Levi

Junior Male
Helensvale State High School 12.4.76 def. Palm Beach Currumbin SHS 5.3.33 Player of the match: Shay Walsh

Senior Female
Mountain Creek State High School 8.3.51 def. The Cathedral College 2.1.13 Player of the match: Jessica Bender

Senior Male
Palm Beach Currumbin 14.11.95 def. Helensvale State High School 3.1.19 Player of the match: Brayden Crossley


Playoff for position 3 & 4

Primary Female
MacGregor State School 6.3.39 def. Good Shepherd Catholic School 1.1.7 Player of the match: Joanne Andrews

Primary Male
Stella Maris Catholic Primary School 7.13.55 def. Whitfield State School 1.1.7

Junior Female
St Monica’s College 6.6.42 def. Hillbrook Anglican School 0.1.1

Junior Male
Cairns State High School 6.7.43 def. Iona College 4.9.33

Senior Female
Kedron State High School 5.3.33 def. Lindisfarne Anglican Grammar 4.5.29

Senior Male
Mountain Creek High School 8.11.59 def. St Augustines College 4.4.28