Seven-goal Douglas rockets to second place in Syd Guilford Medal after ten-vote performance

By Ant Wingard  @AntWingard

A potent performance in front of goal has catapulted Lion Jarryd Douglas to second place overall in the Syd Guildford Medal after polling a maximum ten votes against the Western Magpies in Round 4.

The Palm Beach Currumbin forward kicked a round-high seven goals as the Lions continues their winning ways.

Douglas was the only maximum vote getter of the round for his dominant display in front of goal and has also moved atop the QAFL goal kicking leader board as well.

The ten-vote performance in Round 4 is the second straight week Douglas has polled the most votes in a game after earning eight votes from the coaches in the Lions’ Round 3 victory over Sandgate.

Western Magpies duo Sam Copland, who booted five goals, and midfielder Ryan Harwood also received a bevy of votes alongside Douglas.

Votes were split in the top of the table clash between Mt Gravatt and Broadbeach with midfielder Blake Erickson’s seven votes the highest of any player.

Erickson ahs now extended his lead in the vote tally over Douglas by five votes.

Forward duo Jonah Licht and Jordan Bain earned five and four votes respectively for their showing in front of goal, while rising star nominee, Joel Leahy (four votes), and Cat veteran Matt Fowler (three votes) also earned a vote or two.

In his first game of the year, Demons livewire Noa Corbett earned a game-high nine votes as Surfers Paradise returned to their winning ways over Sandgate on Saturday.

Corbett was lively up forward, bagging a five-goal haul in a game where the Demons dominated both on the scoreboard and in the voting.

Cassidy Haberfield polled votes for the second time this season, as both he and Harris Newton earned seven votes against the Hawks.

Three Tigers led the voting as Labrador usurped Wilston Grange in their first win of the year.

Dyson Budarick earned his first Syd Guildford votes of the year, polling a game-high eight votes in the Labrador win.

Teammates Jake Goldsmith and Bryce Retzlaff also earned eight and seven votes each for their efforts and have since moved inside the top ten leader board.


The Syd Guildford Medal is awarded to the player judged the best in the competition by the QAFL’s nine coaches.

Voting is conducted by each coach post-game on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn in a game is 10.

In a change from previous years, votes are cumulative. Updates of the Syd Guildford Medal voting will be published on the AFL Queensland website for the first 14 rounds of the season, however following Round 14, votes will go blind.

The winner will be announced at the Grogan Medal Dinner on September 16.

See the full Round 4 votes below.

Mt Gravatt v Broadbeach

7 – Blake Erickson (BB)
5 – Jonah Licht (Mt G)
4 – Jordan Bain (Mt G)
4 – Joel Leahy (Mt G)
3 – Matthew Fowler (BB)
3 – Xavier McMahon (BB)
2 – Todd Carbone (Mt G)
2 – Ryan Pantic (BB)

Palm Beach Currumbin v Western Magpies

10 – Jarryd Douglas (PBC)
8 – Sam Copland (WM)
5 – Ryan Harwood (WM)
3 – Brock Askey (PBC)
2 – Jason Burge (PBC)
2 – Tyler Cornish (PBC)

Surfers Paradise v Sandgate

9 – Noa Corbett (SP)
7 – Cassidy Haberfield (SP)
7 – Harris Newton (SP)
3 – Jack Prestagar (SP)
2 – Daniel Affleck (Sand)
1 – Nicholas Scott (SP)
1 – Jack Taylor (SP)

Labrador v Wilston Grange

8 – Dyson Budarick (Lab)
8 – Jake Goldsmith (Lab)
7 – Bryce Retzlaff (Lab)
3 – Harry Milford (WG)
3 – Adam Hughes (WG)
1 – Sam Gribble (WG)


23 – Blake Erickson (BB)
18 – Jarryd Douglas (PBC)
16 – Andrew Smith (Mt G)
15 – Nicholas Crowley (PBC)
14 – Jordan Bain (Mt G)
13 – Jayden Crawley (Mt G)
12 – Jake Goldsmith (Lab)
11 – Nathan Beck (Morn)
11 – Bryce Retzlaff (Lab)