Regional NewsArchive

Regional Leagues

AFL Cairns

The Australian Football League Cairns is a semi-professional Australian rules football league that includes clubs from the Cairns region in Queensland. The competition contains 7 teams with a majority of them in the Cairns area with Port Douglas also involved.

AFL Mt Isa

AFL Mount Isa is an amateur competition formed as the North West Australian Football League in 1967, changing its name to the Mount Isa AFL in 1969. Prior to this the game was played but was not organised. It is based around the city of Mount Isa and includes a young guns team from Lake Nash.

AFL Capricornia

AFL Capricornia is an amateur competition which was first formed in 1968 and is played in the areas of Rockhampton, Gladstone and Yeppoon. There are six clubs in the competition.

AFL Darling Downs

AFL Darling Downs is an amateur competition based in the area around the city of Toowoomba west of Brisbane, Queensland. The competition was formed as the Darling Downs Australian Football League in 1971. There are currently 11 teams in the senior competition with the newly formed Chinchilla Suns enjoying their inaugural season in 2013.

AFL Townsville

AFL Townsville is an amateur competition formed as the Townsville Australian Football League in 1955, the first AFL competition to be formed in Queensland outside of the South East. The league comprises of 5 teams and is primarily based around the city of Townsville.

AFL Mackay

AFL Mackay is an amateur competition formed as the Mackay Australian Football League in 1970. 7 teams play in this competition and it is predominantly based around the city of Mackay with a team from the Whitsundays also involved.

AFL Wide Bay

The AFL Wide Bay competition was formerly known as the Bundaberg-Wide Bay Australian Football League which was formed in 1987 through the merger of the Bundaberg Australian Football League and Wide Bay Australian Football Leagues. The competition currently features teams from the cities of Bundaberg, Maryborough and Hervey Bay.